FACULTY MAKING A DIFFERENCE



2024 Faculty Convocation

Awards Ceremony

Thursday, September 26, 2024 Ernest R. Graham Center Ballrooms



PROGRAM

Welcome

Noël C. Barengo Chairperson, Faculty Senate Member, FIU Board of Trustees

National Anthem

The Star-Spangled Banner - Francis Scott Key

FIU Alma Mater

Belinda Gunn – *Lyrics* Carl Strommen – *Music*

Performed by:

Karen Veloz Wertheim School of Music & Performing Arts Director

Edgar Sanfeliz Botta Wertheim School of Music & Performing Arts Adjunct Professor of Music

Robert B. Dundas

Wertheim School of Music & Performing Arts Associate Professor of Vocal Performance, FIU Opera Theater Director

> Chris Ellis College of Business Professor

Vindhya Devi Khare Wertheim School of Music & Performing Arts Area Coordinator of Vocal Performance, Associate Teaching Professor of Vocal Performance

> Erynn Millard Wertheim School of Music & Performing Arts Director of Choral Activities

Please scan QR code at the end for more information on the awardees

Provost's Welcome

Elizabeth M. Béjar Provost, Executive Vice President, and Chief Operating Officer

President's Message

Kenneth A. Jessell

President

Keynote Address

David Lawrence Jr.

Retired Miami Herald Publisher

Chair of The Children's Movement of Florida

Faculty Award Presentation

Presenter: Stephen Loynaz

Access Consultant Manager, Disability Resource Center

Distinguished University Professor Award

Presenter: Stephen Loynaz

Access Consultant Manager, Disability Resource Center

Conference USA Faculty Achievement Award

Presenter: Elizabeth M. Béjar Provost, Executive Vice President, and Chief Operating Officer

Fain Fellow Faculty Award

Presenter: Elizabeth M. Béjar Provost, Executive Vice President, and Chief Operating Officer

Presenter: Stephen M. Fain
Professor Emeritus, Founding University Professor

Closing Remarks

Elizabeth M. Béjar Provost, Executive Vice President, and Chief Operating Officer

FACULTY AWARDS

Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

Umut Caglar

Associate Teaching Professor, Mathematics and Statistical Sciences College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Mohamed ElZomor

Associate Professor, Construction Management College of Engineering & Computing

Ming Fang

Associate Teaching Professor, English College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Douglas Robertson

Professor, Educational Policy Studies College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Florent Rouxelin

Assistant Professor, Finance College of Business

Tony Thomas

Assistant Teaching Professor, Mechanical and Materials Engineering College of Engineering & Computing

Faculty Award for Excellence in Gateway Teaching

Sandra Stojanovic

Associate Teaching Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Faculty Award for Excellence in Service

Mesut Özgen

Associate Teaching Professor, Music College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts

Faculty Award for Excellence in Research & Creative Activities

Ellen Leslie Brown

Tenured Professor, Graduate Nursing Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Health Sciences

Joseph Eirin-Lopez

Professor, Biological Sciences College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Nazira El-Hage

Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Anuradha Godavarty

Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering College of Engineering & Computing

John Kominoski

Professor, Biological Sciences College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Jeremy Pettit

Professor, Psychology College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Faculty Award for Excellence in Advising and Mentorship

Shanna Burke

Associate Professor, School of Social Work Robert Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work

Remy Dou

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Elisa Maria Trucco

Associate Professor, Psychology College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Faculty Award for Excellence in Engagement

David Brown

Professor, Medical Education Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Please scan QR code at the end for more information on the awardees

Faculty Award for Excellence in Librarianship

Annia Gonzalez

Librarian, Special Collections University Libraries

ADJUNCT FACULTY AWARDS

Faculty Award for Adjunct Teaching

Jennifer Houston

Adjunct Professor, Marketing and Logistics College of Business

DISTINGUISHED UNIVERSITY PROFESSORS

Distinguished University Professors

Mahadev Bhat

Professor, Earth and Environment College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Angela Laird

Professor, Physics College of Arts, Sciences & Education

Wasim Maziak

Professor, Epidemiology Robert Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work

Giri Narasimhan

Professor, Computer Science College of Engineering & Computing

Berrin Tansel

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering College of Engineering & Computing

CONFERENCE USA FACULTY ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Conference USA Faculty Achievement Award

James Webb

Professor, Physics College of Arts, Sciences & Education

FAIN FELLOW AWARD

Fain Fellow Faculty Award

Richard Olson

Distinguished University Professor Politics and International Relations Steven J. Green School of International & Public Affairs

FIU Alma Mater

Belinda Gunn, Lyrics Carl Strommen, Music

We pledge to thee dear F.I.U., with voices loud and true,
Alma Mater falter never, shine forever Gold and Blue,
We fly our banners high, every culture, we embrace
All our love and Panther spirit, young and old we make this place,
We hail together F.I.U., every scholar side by side,
and we hail to Alma Mater, Alma Mater be our Guide.



Scan here to learn more about our awardees.



